BETRAYAL-EPISODE 41 BY VIKIE KING (08038844702)

Read Episode 40 here…

Just like Bisi predicted, two boys from her platoon showed up, keeping us company as we enjoyed the indomie, equally paying the bill when we were done. I really was uncomfortable, but had no choice than to relax since the boys were only interested in my friend.

“So you see my dear, things worked out just like I predicted. What do you have to say about it?” Bisi asked confidently as we returned to our hostel by 9:30pm, {thirty minutes before lights out}.

“Well I’m impressed, but the way the other fair guy was looking at you, plus the vulgar words that kept coming out from his mouth. I fear ooo” I replied, shaking my head with a smile.

“You mean Victor?, don’t mind him. He will keep on dreaming of having me till we leave this boring camp” she laughed, while I shrugged, laughing equally.

We soon ran into a camp official who helped me with my registration on my first day at the camp. Seeing him brought back the memories of that stressful day. I stopped, greeting him very politely.

Seriously he single-handedly did almost all the registrations for me when I had given up hope due to the large crowd present. Just like a dream, he walked up to me that fateful day like an Angel.

“Hi you look troubled and tired. Are you coming from a far place?” he had asked. I simply nodded, unable to say anything..

“Actually I work here, I can help you if you don’t mind” he offered, smiling and scanning me with his small eyes.

I shook my head, rejecting his offer because I thought he was going to ask for money in exchange.

“What?” he asked in surprise as I shook my head.

“I think I can manage, I don’t have enough money to give you” I murmured, while he scoffed.

“Common I’m not asking for anything, my spirit just wants me to help you. I know you haven’t gotten your mattress yet or have you?” he asked curiously. I nodded, a bit confused with myself.

“Hand me your credentials and go get your mattress with the number you collected before entering this hall. I’ll be at the computer {registration} table over there, waiting for you” he sort of ordered.

I quickly handed him my file gratefully, and dashed out to get my mattress without saying thank you or even bothering to ask of his name. I wasn’t myself that evening because I truly wasn’t used to such stress.

However after securing a bed, I rushed over to the computer table where he told me he would be, luckily was there.

He quickly beckoned on me to come forward as soon as he saw me. My papers were already cleared, and all that was remaining was the computer registration which I quickly did and got my tag/reg number. He never asked for anything in return, not even my phone number. I truly felt very indepted to him.

So seeing him, really brought back everything to my head. He responded to my greeting, smiling and holding me by the wrist.

Bisi gave us a little distance, giving him an opportunity to relax as he stared at me.

“So how have you been doing?” he asked.

“Very fine” I smiled politely.

“I really have been searching for you after that day. You know I was very busy to even ask of your phone number” he said, glancing at my cell phone which I held with my left hand.

“Which platoon are you in? I hope you won’t be posted across water, though I can help influence your posting” he continued, while I stared at him speechlessly, my heart beating very fast.

As we all know, Bayelsa State is a settlement surrounded by water. We heard the state was infact 88% water, which really scared many of us. No one wanted to be posted to a riverine area because we heard it was really bad over there.

We were but few days old in the camp yet very well informed. And so with my helper offering to help me again, I really was short of words. I felt he was going to ask of something in return this time around, because he wasn’t a father christmas..

“Oh I guess its almost lights out” he sort of exclaimed as he brought out his mobile phone.

“We will discuss more tomorrow, just type in your phone number in mine?” he said, offering me his cell phone.

I quietly did as he requested, which brought more smiles upon his face.

“I’ll call you tomorrow, do have a wonderful night” he said as he collected his phone from me.

I nodded and murmured a reply before joining my friend who was patiently waiting for me.

.

“Hmmm you are really a very lucky girl ooo” Bisi exclaimed after I narrated to her how I was helped by the Camp official as we returned to our hostel.

“But come to think of it, I think the guy has other things in mind, just that he hasn’t been able to say it out” she concluded seriously, while I shrugged.

“And what do you think it could be, since he said he isn’t after my money?” I asked innocently.

She scoffed and shook her head.

“Don’t be a naive little girl. What else does a guy want from a beautiful lady huh?” she faced me with a sneer.

“I even heard that these camp officials you see everywhere are more randy than all the male corpers put together” she murmured with a soft laugh.

I shook my head, a bit stunned by the revelation.

“But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t accept favours from them. Most times they turn out to be saviours, just thread cautiously they are very gullible” she winked at me, while I rolled my eyes.

I really sacrificed an hour sleep that fateful night, thinking over Bisi’s words. The camp official’s intentions equally wasn’t left out..

Surprisingly he never called me the next day like he promised. Instead surprised me with his phone call a day after we were sworn in as corpers. I really was dressing up for evening parade that fateful day when his call came through.

“Can we meet at the clinic by 7:30pm this evening?” he asked.

“Sure I will be there” I replied.

“Write down your name and BY NUMBER {reg number} on a piece of paper and bring it along when coming” he requested before hanging up.

.

By 7:30pm I nervously stood in front of the camp clinic. I flashed his phone number twice before walking into the clinic.

I felt a hand on my left shoulder from behind, which made me turn quickly. There stood the official, smiling in his usual manner.

“How are you?” he asked as he led me to a less busy corner.

“I’m fine” I smiled, avoiding his gaze.

“Hope you wrote down your name and reg number?” he asked searchingly.

I nodded and gave him the piece of paper which he quickly glanced at.

“I saw you among the quarter guards yesterday” he said, smiling. I rolled my eyes and laughed softly.

“Yea my platoon commander made me join the squad” I explained.

“And do you like it?” he asked.

“I really don’t have a choice, do I??” I murmured.

“Fine I will help with your posting. Yenegoa right?” he asked.

“Yea thanks alot for everything. You are a very nice person” I answered gratefully. He shrugged, saying nothing.

“I guess I should be going?” I asked anxiously. He nodded quietly, still saying nothing even though his eyes were fixed on me.

“Thanks again for everything. Good night” I said politely, turning to leave.

“Wait Cynthia, there is something else I have to tell you” I heard him say. I instantly froze, my heart furiously pounding.

It really took him quite an effort to say those words, and so I knew whatever he wanted to say was something extremely important.

“Could Bisi be right once again?” I wondered as I turned to face him..

“I hope you can trust me?” he asked, studying me seriously.

“Of course I trust you” I replied politely.

“From the first time I saw you, there was this spark that ignited in me. I picked you out from hundreds of girls that fateful day because I saw your innocence. I know you are a very nice girl” he said and smiled. I silently listened, clueless on what to say.

“I will so much love for us to be good friends. Very good close friends I mean” he proposed. I breathed deeply and nodded.

“But we are good friends already” I replied innocently, while he nodded.

“Yes I know” he murmured, drawing closer to me.

“Can we hang out together tomorrow?” he asked. I swallowed hard and shrugged.

“I guess tomorrow will decide. You have my phone number, I’ll hang out with you if I’m free, moreover where are we even hanging out in this small camp” I replied and asked.

“Don’t worry about that, I’ll call you tomorrow” he replied..

I breathed deeply as soon as I left the clinic, breathing in fresh air. I smiled to myself as my head replayed all that went on between the camp official and I.

I knew I really was going to have a hard time keeping him at bay, but I couldn’t afford pushing him away nor bringing him too close. I needed his help but hated the direction he was heading with it.

I quickly halted as I almost collided with a boy who intentionally blocked me. I instantly discarded my thoughts and stared at the boy who looked a bit familiar.

“Cynthia how far nah? I saw you heading out of the hospital, hope you aren’t sick already?” he asked, while I smiled, trying hard to figure out his face, the dark environment equally wasn’t helping either.

“Please I can’t recall your face” I asked politely.

“We met sometime ago at mami market, actually you were with your friend enjoying indomie that evening, while I was with my friend. Do you remember Victor?” he explained and asked. My eyes quickly lit up in rememberance.

“Yes of course, I do remember” I nodded.

“Kelvin” he murmured his name smiling.

“Yea Kelvin” I repeated slowly.

“I’m heading to my hostel, I’m so tired” i said politely, trying to discharge him.

“Your phone number please, I forgot to ask of it that day” he begged.

“What do you need my phone number for?” I asked, rolling my eyes and smiling.

“Please, please” he begged. I calmly obliged him and we went separate ways….

.

My friend Bisi was anxiously waiting for me at the hostel when I got back. I wasted no time in telling her all that happened between the camp and official and I. She listened very attentively.

“Hmmmm I said it, I knew the guy was helping you for a purpose” she smiled when I was done with my story.

“Just play safe, I bet he won’t dare touch you in this camp” she advised, winking at me.

“Sure I will” I replied with a laugh.

The next morning however brought another surprise which totally shocked me. I couldn’t believe my ears when the ‘man o war’ guy in charge of our morning drills told me that the camp commandant was waiting for me at the pavillion.

I couldn’t believe my ears. I only had exchanged glances once with him and it was on the day he showed up to inspect us {the quarter guards before we were sworn in}.

I heard he was a very respectable guy, but my mind wasn’t at ease as I walked up to the captain. I wished Bisi was with me…

TO BE CONTINUED🙄

Published by

BABA OJOCHEGBE NATHAN

Hi, my name is Nathan. I'm popularly known by friends as Bnats. I'm a microbiologist by profession, a customer relationship manager and entrepreneur by ambition, and to crown it all, I'm a HELPER TO THE HELPLESS by calling. I was born to help people achieve their dreams and live the life they were created to leave. I believe life is not worth living without making significant impact on the lives of people God has placed around you. The good news is that you've finally located someone who can support you towards achieving that great dreams you've always thought is impossible to achieve. So I welcome you to my blog and I believe you'll have a great testimony from this blog. You are the best and no MATTER the MATTER, God will make you to MATTER when it MATTERS most. BELIEVE ME!

Leave a comment